Official Website of Vasantha Obeysekere

Film Director/Screen Play Writer

Personal Data

Full Name: Vasantha Obeysekere

Height: 5' 11'

Date of Birth: 29th December

Mother: Amara Kannagara

Father: Don David Obeysekere


Short  Biography

Vasantha Obeysekere graduated from the University of Ceylon in 1962. He served on the Editorial Staff of the Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Limited from 1964 to 1970. In addition to his editorial work, Obeysekere wrote several short stories during this period.

Obeysekere entered the film industry with Sath Samudura in 1967 which he co-wrote and worked on as assistant director; it was Sri Lanka's entry at the Moscow International Film Festival. In 1971 he was awarded a certificate in Cinematography by the  Comité de libération du cinéma français.


In the 1970s Obeyskere wrote and directed "Ves Gaththo" ("Masked Men") (1970), "Valmathuwo" ("Lost Ones") (1976), Diyamanthi ("Diamond") (1977) and "Palangetiyo" ("Grasshoppers") (1979). "Palangetiyo" won the Presidential Film Awards for Best Screenplay, Best Director and Best Film.


1983's "Dadayama" ("The Hunt") also won the Presidential awards for Best Screenplay, Best Director and Best Film. It was a commercial success as well.

Obeyskere made "Kedapathaka Chaya" ("Reflections on the Mirror") in 1989 after a five year break.


1990s and 2000s

In '90s, Obeysekere made "Maruthaya" ("The Storm") (1995) which won the best screenplay and direction awards at OCIC Film Festival 1995. Selected for the competitive section of the Fribourg International film Festival, Germany 1992.

"Dorakada Marawa" ("Death at the Doorstep") (1998) Won Presidential Awards for the Best Screenplay, Film and Direction 1998.

"Theertha Yathra" ("Pilgrimage") (1999), won Presidential Awards for Best Screenplay, Film and Direction in 1999 and was selected for special screening at the Fukoka International Film Festival Japan 1999.

In 2000 , Obeysekere made "Salalu Warama" ("Web of Love")  (2002). Asani Warsha ("Wrath & Rain") (2004). Swwandi ("Rose") (2006) and Aganthukaya ("The Outcast") (2007) which won the Best Script Best film and Best Direction at Sarasaviya film festival.